Skip To Main Content

Main Menu

Explore More

2024 Orange-Ulster BOCES Humanities Honoree Breakfast

2024 Orange-Ulster BOCES Humanities Honoree Breakfast
  • Instructional Support Services

Janice Werba of Marlboro High School sings the National Anthem at the start of the Orange-Ulster BOCES Humanities Honoree Awards breakfast at the Country Club at Otterkill in Campbell Hall.

On Tuesday, March 19, 2024, Orange-Ulster BOCES hosted the 2024 Humanities Honoree Awards Ceremony and Breakfast at the Country Club at Otterkill in Campbell Hall. Thirty-four high school students who have distinguished themselves in the arts and humanities were recognized. This event celebrates seniors and juniors who have stood out amongst their peers by showing an impressive dedication, skill, and commitment to the arts and humanities.

Each high school and the BOCES nominated two students to be the recipients of this award. The honorees and their guests enjoyed a special breakfast held at the Country Club at Otterkill to celebrate the students’ outstanding accomplishments in the fine arts, performing arts, and the humanities.

Janice Werba of Marlboro High School, sang the national anthem.  The keynote speaker for the event was OU BOCES graphic designer and freelance illustrator Louis Petersen. 

Louis’ art can be seen all around Orange County at schools, store fronts, restaurants and on menus and locally produced product packaging. He has created skateboard graphics and also street murals and graphics for fire trucks. In addition, Louis has created and self-published his extraordinary comics.

Jailyn Fernandez and Arianna Doughty of Chester High School.

Henry Dong and Morgan Taylor of Goshen High School.

Sadie Scott and Alfred Hiraldo of James I. O'Neill High School.

Maria Maxson and Claire Nasu of Cornwall High School.

Natalie Terwilliger and Janice Werba of Marlboro High School.

Jaylon John and Nathali Aguilar Chavarria of Middletown High School.

Daisy Finke and Audrey Guido of Minisink Valley High School.

Chase Cassidy and London Collado of Monroe-Woodbury High School.

Shawn Ramie and Chadrick Shorter of Marguerite A. Flood High School and the Academy at Arden Hill.